I suppose you’re wondering about me.  Who am I? What am I doing writing this?  I shall let you in on all of that, but first let me introduce myself.  My name is Diana, goddess of the moon and hunting and also of childbirth, but more of that later.  I’m also known as Artemis, but I prefer Diana.  Cupid,that little slut, calls me Arty. He only does it because he knows I hate it.  I try not to let him see how much it annoys me, but he knows, oh he knows how much it does.

So now you know who I am.  As for why I’m doing this, well, let’s just say eternity is a long time and none of us are as busy as we once were. Having said that, Gaia has successfully rebranded herself for the modern age and is as popular as ever. I think its gone to her head a bit, but don’t tell her I said so.  Very simply,I miss interacting in the affairs of men.  It might seem far fetched to your modern world, but there was a time when I, and all my fellow divines, were very much sought after.  Sometimes, the din of all the prayers and propitiations would all but deafen me.  Now its very quiet here in our small world.  As goddess of the hunt, I’m used to being much more active than I am now.  Truthfully, I’m bored.  Bored, bored, bored!  There is not enough to do and nothing to look forward to.  No smitings, or odysseys or anything in anyway diverting.  So I need a way to fill my time.

One thing I have noticed from observing your funny ways, is how often you seem to find ways to understand and express yourselves…. therapy, journaling, support groups.  You humans do it all.  Us, not so much.  No one here really thinks twice about the why of their actions. Probably why we got such a reputation for being capricious.  Honestly, you wouldn’t believe how un self-aware most of us are.  Or maybe you would.  I’m sure you’ve read the myths. Anyway, I thought ‘why not.  Why not give it a go.  Be open, let it all hang out’ .  After all, what’s the worse that can happen?  It’s not as if Jupiter can fire me, is it?  I suppose he could make my life unpleasant if he wanted to.  But honestly, Jupiter is only really interested in Jupiter.  There was a time when he could throw his weight around and punish us all if he got in a snit, but those days are long gone.

So here’s to us.  You and me.  Not to put any pressure on, but if you ever felt like worshipping me, I’m not going to turn you away. Just saying.  I’m not yet dead, only irrelevant.

“The Moon! Artemis! the great goddess of the splendid past of men! Are you going to tell me she is a dead lump?”      D.H. Lawerence

 

Leave a Reply

